Thursday, September 16, 2010

'Video Dumbo 2010', Brooklyn, New York, USA

Video_dumbo: 24-26 september 2010

112 water street, DUMBO

Brooklyn, New York, USA

Curators: Caspar Stracke, Gabriela Manroy

For further information please visit:


‘VIDEO INSTALLATIONS’, 24-26 September 2010, 7pm

Adam Leech / Hans Op De Beeck / Rimas Sakalauskas / Till Roeskens / Kristin Lucas / David Krippendorf

‘FAUNATICA’, 24 September 2010, 8 pm

Emily Vey Duke + Cooper Battersby / Shaun Slifer / Torsten Zenas Burns
Douglas Fishbone / Pene Ginard & Laura Gines / Oliver Laric / Pilvi Takala /

‘COLLISION COURSE’, 25 September 2010, 2 pm

Gratuitous Art Films / Julie Casper Roth / Zbynek Baladran Estela / Estupinyà-García Arne Bunk / Vincent Meessen / Isabelle Hayeur /

‘SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE’, 25 September 2010, 3 pm

David Pierce / Maria Niro / Agnes Meyer-Brandis / Penny Lane / Joseph Bennett /


Ferhat Özgür / Christoph Schlingensief / Karen Mirza & Brad Butler / Avi Mograbi / Basma Alsharif /

‘TEL QUEL’, 25 Sepember 2010, 7.30 pm

Aaron Oldenburg / Tamar Latzman / Theodore Tagholm / Tim Leyendekker / Redmond Entwistle / David Politzer / Melanie Crean / Pete Burkeet /

‘PROJECTOR PERFORMANCES’, 25 September 2010, 8.30 pm

LIGHTBOX projector performance, Alex MacKenzie, Vancouver


Keith Sanborn / Bob Paris / Volker Schreiner / Ivan Faktor / Vivian Ostrovsky / Dave Griffiths / Julius Ziz /

‘SILVER SPLICED’, 25 September 2010, 10 pm

Keith Sanborn / Bob Paris / Volker Schreiner / Ivan Faktor / Vivian Ostrovsky / Dave Griffiths/ Julius Ziz /

ETC: DVD-EAI: SPECIAL SCREENING, 26 September 2010, 2pm

ETC: 1969 - 2007

The Experimental Television Center (ETC) was established in 1969 by Ralph Hocking at the State University of New York at Binghamton and is among the oldest yet still existing nexus for video / media artists on the East Coast.

In 1972, ETC began a residency program, inviting artists such as Nam June Paik, Shikego Kubota, poet Jackson MacLow, and glass artist/video activist Rudi Stern to explore the center's tools. Engineer David Jones deleloped ETC's unique one of its kind image-processing system in 1974

This system layed the groundwork for subsequent innovations in artist-oriented software and tools, including Jones's frame buffer with two-dimensional print software. Over the years the Center's residency program gained international recognition through the works of visiting artists, among them Peter D'Agostino, Peer Bode, Shalom Gorewitz, Barbara Hammer, Ken Jacobs, and Gary Hill. In 1978 the Center relocated to Owego, New York, where it continues to operate today.

An anniversary DVD compilation

For it's 40th year anniversary ETC started to produce a DVD compilation of a selection of artists who had created video art during ETC residencies over the course of 40 solid years.
This enormous undertaking required digital restorations, and took three years, resulting in a 20 hour compilation of over 100 artists.

Digitizing, restorations, and overall support: Bill Seery and Maria Venuto and Standby program
Project manager and DVD author: Aaron Miller.
Art director: Diane Bertolo

The DVD is accompanied with a 130-page catalog and is distributed by Electronic Arts Intermix

A 40-min compilation program focussing on historic works from the early beginnings.

Rebecca Cleman from Electronic Arts Intermix will present additional works of the selected artists created in the same time period from the EAI collection.

The screening is followed by a small reception.

‘ARE WE HOME YET?’ 26 September 2010, 3.30 pm

Emmanuelle Antille / Lena Maria Thuering / Gautam Kansara / Ken Jacobs / Sam Holden / Nicole Sloan / Jill Epstein / Axel Roessler /

‘INSIDE OUT’, 26 September 2010, 5pm

Steve Rogenstein / Josh Weinstein / Allen Chen / Shelly Silver / Devrim Kadirbeyoglu / Christopher Udemezue / Melissa Potter / Erik Levine / Simon Mullan / Axel Petersén / Liz Rodda /

‘TURNING POINTS’, 26 September 2010, 7 pm

Tomoko Inagaki / Toni Comas / Jonathan Cummins / Vianney Lambert / Magnus Bärtås /

‘CRACK LIGHT’, 26 September 2010, 8.30 pm

Theodore Tagholm / John Michael Boling / Wojciech Gilewicz / Jacob Tonski / François Vogel / Flatform / Peter Rose / Yorgos Taxiarchopolus / David Grainger / Leighton Pierce / Phyllis Baldino / Gerhard Funk / Ulrich Polster and Christine Scherrer /